BCCI announces new format for IPL 2022: Ten teams divided into two groups of five, each team to play 14 games in league stages


  • IPL-2022 will kick start on March-26th and end on May-29th.
  • 70 league matches will be played in Mumbai and Pune.
  • On February 25th, BCCI announced that the 10-teams were divided into 2 groups and each team will play 14 league stage matches.


The Indian Premier League (IPL)-2022 is a fifteenth season of IPL. It is a professional T20 Cricket league established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. The fifteenth edition will see the expansion of the league, with the addition of two new franchises. In August 2021, the BCCI confirmed that two new franchises would join the IPL-2022 league. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is the defending champions of last season.

IPL-2022 – Schedule:

On February 25th (Friday), the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that key decisions taken in the IPL Governing Council meeting, held virtually on February 24th (Thursday) evening, regarding the upcoming edition of the IPL-2022.

BCCI announced that the new season of the IPL-2022 will kick start on March 26th-2022 and the final will be played on May 29th-2022. There will be a total of 74 matches in IPL 2022.

IPL-2022 – Venue:

Since last two years, IPL had played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) due to the Covid-19 pandemic. But, IPL-2022 is scheduled to be played entirely in India. A total of 70 league-stage matches will be played across four international standard venues in Mumbai and Pune.

The BCCI explained that, “The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League will be played in a bio-secure environment and the decision to play the two league matches in only two cities was taken to avoid air travel which is considered as a major threat for the spread of COVID-19 infection, thereby affecting the players and the League/matches”.

On February 24th, IPL Chairman Brijesh Patel had confirmed that the venues for the play-off matches and the final will be declared later.

Venue Number of Matches
Mumbai – Wankhede Stadium 20 Matches
Mumbai – Brabourne Stadium (CCI) 15 Matches
Mumbai – DY Patil Stadium 20 Matches
Pune – MCA International Stadium 15 Matches

Each team will play 4 matches each at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium, and 3 matches each at Brabourne Stadium (CCI) and MCA International Stadium, Pune.

IPL-2022 – Group wise distribution of teams:

A total 10 teams have been divided into two virtual groups of five, based on a seeding system determined by the number of IPL- Championships won and the number of final appearances.

Group A: Mumbai Indians (MI), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Delhi Capitals (DC) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG).
Group B: Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Gujarat Titans (GT).

1.MI(5-times Winner)2CSK(4-times Winner)
3.KKR(2-times Winner)4SRH(1-time Winner)
5.RR(1-time Winner)6 RCB
9. LSG10 GT


The IPL-2022 format will be the same as IPL-2011. All the ten teams will divide into 2 groups. There will 2 qualifiers, 1 eliminator and the Final. Totally 74 matches (70 league stage matches and 4 playoffs) will be played in IPL-2022. Each team set to play 14 matches in the league stages. The format is similar to that used for the 2011 edition, when IPL had two new teams in Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

Each team will play twice against the teams in their group and against the team in the same row in the other group. Against the remaining four teams in the other group, each team will play only once.

For example, MI-team – the first placed team in Group-A will play twice in the league stages against KKR, RR, DC, LSG and CSK (the team in the same row in the other group- 8+2). MI-team will play only once against SRH, RCB, PBKS and GT (4-league matches).

Similarly, KKR-team – the second placed team in Group-A will play twice in the league stages against MI, RR, DC, LSG and SRH (the team in the same row in the other group- 8+2). KKR will play only once against CSK, RCB, PBKS and GT (4-league matches). This is how teams attain (8+6) 14 group league matches.

Schedule Matrix for IPL-2022:

Leave a Comment