Indian Premier League (IPL) -2022

The IPL-2022 is a fifteenth season and it is a professional T20 Cricket league established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. Tata is the new title sponsorship of IPL-2022. The fifteenth edition will see the expansion of the league, with the addition of two new franchises. In August 2021, the BCCI confirmed that two new franchises would join the IPL-2022 league. The new franchises names are Ahmedabad and Lucknow franchises. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is the defending champions of last season.

Mega Auction of Tata IPL-2022:

The mega auction for the Tata IPL-2022 held on February 12 and 13, 2022 in Bengaluru. It is a two-day event like the 2018 mega auction.

IPL Schedule and Venue-2022:

The IPL-2022 is scheduled to be played from April 02nd-2022 and end on June 03rd-2022. Since last two years, IPL had played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) due to the Covid-19 pandemic. But, IPL-2022 is scheduled to be played in India.

IPL-2022 – Teams:

total 10 teams were divided into two groups. Each group was split into 5 teams each.

Group A: Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Punjab Kings (PBKS), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG).
Group B: Mumbai Indians (MI), Delhi Capitals (DC), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Gujarat Titans (GT).


The IPL-2022 format will be the same as IPL-2011. All the ten teams will divide into 2 groups. Each team within the groups will play each other 2 times. Group A and Group B teams will play each other once. Each team from both groups will play 1 more match, which will be selected from the draw. So each team will play 14 league matches. There will 2 qualifiers, 1 eliminator and the Final. Totally 74 matches (70 league stage matches and 4 playoffs) will be played in IPL-2022.

Tata IPL-2022 Auction:

A total of 204 players were sold including 67 overseas players and Rs.551.70 crore was spent by the 10 franchises.

Among those 204 players, India’s Ishan Kishan was the costliest as he was bought at Rs.15.25 crore by Mumbai Indians (MI) on Day 1. Deepak Chahar and Shreyas Iyer were number two and three respectively in terms of money earned from the Tata IPL Auction-2022. England’s Liam Livingstone was the costliest among overseas player and he was bought by Punjab Kings (PK) for Rs.11.5 crore. 

Shreyas Iyer was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) for Rs.12.25 crore while Chennai Super Kings (CSK) bought Deepak Chahar for Rs.14 crore. One interesting buy at the Mega Auction was of Jofra Archer who went for Rs.8 crore and was bought by Mumbai Indians (MI) even as his availability for the IPL-2022 season is doubtful.

IPL 2022 Mega Auction 2022 – Top 11 expensive buys

S.noPlayer NamePrice (In Crores)Team (Bought by)Role
1.Ishan Kishan 15.25 MIWicket-keeper & Opening Batter
2.Deepak Chahar 14.00 CSKMedium Pacer
3.Shreyas Iyer 12.25 KKPBatter
4.Liam Livingstone11.50 PBKSBatting All-rounder
5.Nicholas Pooran10.75 SRHWicket-keeper & Batter
6.Harshal Patel10.75 RCBMedium Pacer
7.Wanindu Hasaranga10.75 RCB All-rounder
8.Shardul Thakur10.75 DCBowling All-rounder
9.Prasidh Krishna10.00 RRMedium-Fast Bowler
10.Avesh Khan10.00 LSGFast-Medium Bowler
11.Lockie Ferguson10.00 GTFast Bowler

Full list of Sold players of 10 franchises in IPL-2022 mega auction:

Chennai Super Kings (CSK):

Purse entered: Rs.48 crore
Purse left: Rs.2.95 crore
Biggest buys: Deepak Chahar (Rs.14 crore), Ambati Rayudu (Rs.6.75 crore)
Retained Players: Ravindra Jadeja (Rs.16 Crore), MS Dhoni (Rs.12 Crore), Moeen Ali (Rs.8 Crore) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (Rs.6 Crore)

Mumbai Indians (MI):

Purse entered: Rs.48 crore
Purse left: Rs.0.10 crore
Biggest buys: Ishan Kishan (Rs.15.25 crore), Tim David (Rs.8.25 crore), Jofra Archer (Rs.8 crore)
Retained Players: Rohit Sharma (Rs.16 Crore), Jasprit Bumrah (Rs.12 Crore), Suryakumar Yadav (Rs.8 Crore) and Kieron Pollard (Rs.6 Crore)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB):

Purse entered: Rs.57 crore
Purse left: Rs.1.55 crore
Biggest buys: Harshal Patel (Rs.10.75 crore), Wanindu Hasaranga (Rs.10.75 crore), Josh Hazlewood (Rs.7.75 crore)
Retained Players: Virat Kohli (Rs.15 Crore), Glenn Maxwell (Rs.11 Crore) and Mohammad Siraj (Rs.7 Crore)

Delhi Capitals (DC):

Purse entered: Rs.47.5 crore
Purse left: Rs.0.10 crore
Biggest buys: Shardul Thakur (Rs.10.75 crore), Mitchell Marsh (Rs.6.5 crore)
Retained Players: Rishabh Pant (Rs.16 Crore), Axar Patel (Rs.9 Crore), Prithvi Shaw (Rs.7.5 Crore) and Anrich Nortje (Rs.6.5 Crore)

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH):

Purse entered: Rs.68 crore
Purse left: Rs.0.10 crore
Biggest buys: Nicholas Pooran (Rs.10.75 crore), Washington Sundar (Rs.8.75 crore), Rahul Tripati (Rs.8.5 crore)
Retained Players: Kane Williamson (Rs.14 Crore), Abdul Samad (Rs.4 Crore) and Umran Malik (Rs.4 Crore)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR):

Purse entered: Rs.48 crore
Purse left: Rs.0.45 crore
Biggest buys: Shreyas Iyer (Rs.12.25 crore), Nitish Rana (Rs.8 crore)
Retained Players: Andre Russell (Rs.12 Crore), Varun Chakravarthy (Rs.8 Crore), Venkatesh Iyer (Rs.8 Crore) and Sunil Narine (Rs.6 Crore)

Punjab Kings (PBKS):

Purse entered: Rs.72 crore
Purse left: Rs.3.45 crore
Biggest buys: Liam Livingstone (Rs.11.5 crore), Kagiso Rabada (Rs.9.25 crore), Shahrukh Khan (Rs.9 Crore).
Retained Players: Mayank Agarwal (Rs.12 Crore) and Arshdeep Singh (Rs.4 Crore)

Rajasthan Royals (RR):

Purse entered: Rs.62 crore
Purse left: Rs.0.95 crore
Biggest buys: Prasidh Krishna (Rs.10 crore), Shimron Hetmyer (Rs.8.5 crore)
Retained Players: Sanju Samson (Rs.14 Crore), Jos Butler (Rs.10 Crore) and Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rs.4 Crore)

Gujarat Titans (GT):

Purse entered: Rs.52 crore
Purse left: Rs.0.15 crore
Biggest buys: Lockie Ferguson (Rs.10 crore), Rahul Tewatia (Rs.9 crore), Mohammad Shami (Rs.6.25 Crore)
Retained Players: Hardik Pandya (Rs.15 Crore), Rashid Khan (Rs.15 Crore) and Shubman Gill (Rs.8 Crore)

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG):

Purse entered: Rs.59.80 crore
Purse left: Rs.0 crore
Biggest buys: Avesh Khan (Rs.10 crore), Jason Holder (Rs.8.75 crore)
Retained Players: KL Rahul (Rs.17 Crore), Marcus Stoinis (Rs.9.2 Crore) and Ravi Bishnoi (Rs.4 Crore)

List of top 10 Unsold Players:

S.noUnsold – Player NameBase Price (In Crores)
1.Suresh Raina 2
2.Steve Smith 2
3.Shakib Al Hasan 2
4.Adil Rashid 2
5.Imran Tahir 2
6.Aaron Finch 1.50
7.Dawid Malan 1.50
8.Eoin Morgan 1.50
9.Chris Lynn 1.50
10Tabraiz Shamsi 1

India Under-19 World Cup Stars selected for IPL-2022:

  • Raj Bawa – PBKS – Rs.2 Crore
  • Rajvardhan Hangargekar – CSK – Rs.1.5 Crore
  • Yash Dhull – DC – Rs.50 Lakhs

Leave a Comment